The makers of ’83 film hosted a grand event in honour of the 1983 world cup champions. Most of the team members were present on this very special Relive ’83 event but Sunil Gavaskar and Ravi Shastri were missing.

The entire event was a fan moment for everyone, who relived the 1983 world cup era.

Present at the event were the world cup champions Kapil Dev, Mohindar Amrnath, Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, S S Madanlal, Sandeep Patil, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Dilip Vengsarkar, Sunil Valson, P.R. Man Singh (Manager) along with actor Ranveer Singh and the makers of the film which included Kabir Khan, Vikas Bahl, Madhu Mantena of Phantom films.

The entire cricket team went on to share their experiences with each other and were caught in emotional yet funny instances.

1983 World Cup winner team India
1983 World Cup winner team India

Sunil Gavaskar who lost his wicket very early in 1983 World Cup Final were never good friends with Kapil Dev or nor enemies but still he was missing from Relive ’83 event.

Same way Ravi Shastri was in team for 1983 World Cup Final match but he could not play on this historical day of Indian cricket, wonder why the two big names of indian cricket skipped the mega Relive 83 event.

Ranveer Singh who is all set to play the character of Kapil Dev in the film also had his fan moment while sharing the stage with the legendary cricketers.

The actor was caught promoting the director Kabir Khan who was sitting amongst the audience to note down experiences shared by the players.

The makers of the film announced that they were privileged and honoured to make a movie on 1983 world cup.

’83 will bring to light one of the most important event in the Indian cricket history.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In 1983, the Indian Cricket Team won the Cricket World Cup in England. This was the first time ever that any team apart from the West Indies ever won the world cup. And it was the first time ever, that an Indian team won any prominent tournament. It’s almost as this win taught India to win!

The winning squad comprised of Kapil Dev, Mohinder Amarnath, Sunil Gavaskar, Kirti Azad, Yashpal Sharma, Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Roger Binny, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Sandeep Patil, Syed Kirmani, Madan Lal, Ravi Shastri, Dilip Vengsarkar & Sunil Valson, and their manager P R Man Singh.

’83 is the story of those 14 men who believed that they could…and they did!

The film is directed by Kabir Khan and Produced by Phantom Films, Vishnu Vardhan Induri of Vibri Media, Reliance Entertainment and Kabir Khan Films.